Broward County Simplified Divorce
Court Costs and Legal Fees for a Simplified Divorce in Broward County, Florida
According to the Florida Bar, a simple divorce in Broward County is where there are no minor children and one party has lived in Florida for at least 6 months. In this type of divorce, both parties are required to appear before a judge when the final order of dissolution is granted.
This type of divorce can't be used by everyone because there are certain requirements that must be met, including:
(a) both husband and wife must agree to the use of this form of a divorce proceeding;
(b) they have no minor (under 18) or dependent children;
(c) they have no adopted children under the age of 18;
(d) the wife is not pregnant;
(e) at least one of the parties has lived in Florida for the past six months;
(f) the parties have agreed on the division of all of their property (assets) and obligations (debts);
(g) neither party is seeking alimony; and
(h) both parties agree that the marriage is irretrievably broken.
If these requirements can't be met, then the parties will have to file a for regular uncontested dissolution of marriage.
Differences between a Simplified and a Regular Uncontested Dissolution of Marriage
There are substantial differences between a simplified and a regular uncontested dissolution of marriage in Broward County, Florida. In a regular uncontested dissolution, each spouse needs to prepare a financial affidavit (a document containing income, expenses, assets and liabilities) and file it with the Court and each spouse has the right to examine and cross-examine the other as a witness. With a simplified divorce, each party can waive the requirement to provide a financial affidavit. (You may document your agreement by signing a Marital Settlement Agreement and filing it with the clerk of the circuit court, or you may agree that all of your assets and what you owe have been disposed of by oral agreement - See Florida Family Law Rules of Procedure, which explains all aspects of a simplified divorce - which can be found on this page)
Please note, a simplified divorce is not available If there are minor children involved. If there are minor children, a support guideline worksheet must be prepared, along with a parenting plan which outlines the visitation/timesharing arrangements and other related matters.
Costs and Fees For Broward County Simplified Divorce
The cost and legal fees for a simplified divorce in Broward County, Florida is generally much less than in a regular uncontested dissolution of marriage. Here are the typical expenses to file a simple divorce in Broward County, Florida.
Filing Fee: $401.00
Legal or Attorney Fee: $800.00 - $1,000.00
Related Legal Topics:
More Site Features:
Need Help? Can't find what you are looking for or you would like to report a problem? Please contact us and we will be happy to assist you. Your feedback is appreciated.
Finding Legal Information Made Easy. BrowardLegalDirectory.com.